Fable of an Infertile Female: Scratches Head?

Scratches Head?
People just don’t make the connection.  Have you ever noticed that when you search for information about infertility it is usually under the same links that are celebrating someone’s pregnancy?  Just want you want to find is a picture of a big pregnant belly or pictures of little toes when you are researching how egg retrieval takes place.  I went to the hospital to have an ultrasound done at the beginning of our IVF process.  While waiting to have my exam, I was placed in the same waiting room that 3 other sets of families were celebrating the birth of a child.  They were talking loudly about the pregnancies and deliveries, and all i could think of was “SHUT UP! SHUT UP! SHUT UP!”.    It didn’t take me long to move my anger away from the families and to the hospital.  I felt that the hospital should have been more sensitive about placing someone who was there for fertility tests in the delivery waiting room.
This entry was posted in in-vitro fertilization, infertility and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fable of an Infertile Female: Scratches Head?

  1. strugglingwithbipolar says:

    I could these thoughts ALL the time. My RE’s office is only used as a fertility clinic and the ob/gyn office is on another floor, but I had to see all these images of healthy happy babies and pregnancies during my miscarriage. It makes no sense!

  2. Alec Wanberg says:

    I am currently pregnant, with a surrogate who can be a member of my family. We are living together now, which gives me the great gift of sharing the daily thrill of the baby’s kicks, the anxieties around the upcoming labor and delivery, along with the host of preparations that are part of preparing for his arrival and birth. But until my colleague used the term spiritual pregnancy, I did not know how to describe the bigger vision that called this member of my family to offer herself in service, or my deep intuitive promptings to be open-minded in the way my husband and I brought a child into the world.

Leave a Reply

