Fable of an Infertile Female: Tasting Pennies

Whether you are trying naturally, IUI’s, IVF or other fertility treatments, it is always a waiting game.  For months prior to seeking intervention and trying IUI’s, I would read early symptoms of pregnancy from various websites.  You would read about the typical things such as cravings, morning sickness, breast tenderness, etc.  I ran across a few websites that suggested that some women get a metallic taste in their mouth that would resemble sucking on pennies.  Sucking on pennies?  How does a person know what it tastes like to suck on pennies?

I am not sure how it happened, but suddenly every month I began tasting pennies.  Yay, I am tasting pennies, I must be pregnant.  I also noticed cravings, queasiness, breast tenderness, and other symptoms listed (which also happen to be symptoms of PMS).   Low and behold it was just more disappointment.

Following IVF I began smelling strange things.  I smelled doughnuts when there were nothing that even resembled doughnuts nearby, was convinced my husband smelled like baby food, and spent most the day looking for sour milk around my desk at work.  It makes you wonder, how many of your symptoms you create for yourself based on how you think you should feel. What symptoms would be obnoxious to some, we crave.

How does our mental condition impact our physical condition?

This entry was posted in infertility. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

