Fable of an Infertile Female: Sense of Self

When processing all the information that I received at the doctor’s office I became overwhelmed by the options we had, the difficulty of that decision, and my los of sense of self.

When trying naturally I was so certain that I was meant to be a Mom, and excited about the joy of a child.  After a number of years trying various fertility treatments I became so wrapped up in the science and the process of family building I forgot why I wanted a child.  I got to a point where it felt more like a meeting of a goal than I did about a child.

That is when I questioned my whole purpose?  Maybe I am not meant to  have a child?  Maybe we are meant to adopt?  Maybe we are meant to adopt a child with special needs?  Would we make good foster parents? Maybe I am supposed to be a career woman?

Who am I?

We begin to grieve not only the fact we cannot have a child but the loss of who we thought we were meant to be…but in this moment of self discovery and following the road to a family, we may find ourselves doing something completely unexpected that fulfills us in more ways that we could have ever anticipated.

This entry was posted in Grief, infertility, Resilency, Self, Stories, Strength. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

