Infertility Doesn’t End With Pregnancy

I was part of a conversation the other day about parents not letting their children grow up and wanting to keep them small as long as possible.  The conversation addressed that the issue was more about the parents not wanting to let go, than it was about the benefit of the child.  I then learned that the parent being discussed was a person who experienced fertility issues.

This reminded me of how I felt with our first daughter conceived via IVF.  Each moment I wanted to have last because I was not certian I would ever experience it again.  It seems reasonable to think that a parent who has faught so hard to conceive a child would want to hold on to moments a little longer than most.  Each snuggle, each feeding, every fight for a nap, teething, and other moments with my daughter felt more like a blessing than a hassle.  I kept telling myself that I needed to hold on to each moment and remember just incase I never had the experience again.  I suppose it would be easy for some parents to take that emotion or feeling to the extreme.

Now that my daughter is older, I still have the desire to protect her from any harm that might come.  I have to continually remind myself to step back and let her be a normal kid.  I have to let her fall and learn to get back up, so she can learn.  

The question of what is “normal” for a parent to feel and what is because of the experience with infertility is hard to separate.  Do the infertile feel a different type of attachment to their children?

What do you think??  Share your story.

This entry was posted in infertility. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

